Hazardous Waste & Paper Shredding

No fee to participate. Identification is required. 

View the 2024 Household Hazardous Waste and Paper Shredding Event Brochure (PDF)

Everything you ever wanted to know about waste disposal website.

Free Local Paper Shredding Event

  • May 4: Saturday, 9 am to 12 pm - East Hampton Water Pollution Control Facility, 20 Gildersleeve Drive, East Hampton
  • June 22: Saturday, 9 am to 12 pm - Westbrook Town Hall, 866 Boston Post Road, Westbrook
  • September 7: Saturday, 9 am to 12 pm - Middlefield Community Center, 405 Main Street, Middlefield
  • October 5: Saturday, 9 am to 12 pm - Chester Fair Grounds, 11 Kirtland Terrace, Chester

This is NOT for businesses, only for personal residential papers. Limit of 5 boxes or bags (9 inches by 18 inches by 12 inches) of personal papers, such as medical records, legal or financial documents, and tax returns.

No junk mail, magazines, books, cards, envelopes, metal ring-binders etc. will be accepted.

Free Household Hazardous Waste Local Collection Event

  • April 20: Saturday, 9 am to 1 pm - Clinton Public Works Garage, 117 Nod Road, Clinton
  • May 11: Saturday, 9 am to 1 pm - East Hampton Water Pollution Control Facility, 20 Gildersleeve Drive, East Hampton
  • June 15: Saturday, 9 am to 1 pm - Lyme/Old Lyme Middle School, 49 Lyme Street, Old Lyme
  • July 20: Saturday, 9 am to 1 pm - Woodside Intermediate School, 30 Woodside Road, Cromwell
  • August 17: Saturday, 9 am to 1 pm - Deep River Town Garage, 206 Winthrop Road (Rte. 80), Deep River
  • September 14: Saturday, 9 am to 1 pm - Middlesex Community College, 100 Training Hill Road, Middletown
  • October 12: Saturday, 9 am to 1 pm - Haddam Elementary School, 272 Saybrook Road, Higganum